Cyber Infrastructure

About This Strategic Research Area

Supercomputer CystormFrom the time researchers at Iowa State University invented the world’s first electronic digital computer, Iowa State has been a leader in computing technology. The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECpE) recognizes that the world’s computing and networking infrastructure, embodied in the Internet, has dramatically altered the technological, scientific, and sociological landscape. Our department aims to help this technology realize its full potential, particularly with respect to embedded devices.

To this end, the ECpE department’s research focuses on seamlessly integrating new capabilities into existing computing infrastructure, as well as advancing the state-of-the-art in this area.

Specifically, the department’s research efforts have a strong emphasis on:

  • computer architecture
  • cybersecurity
  • dependable and real-time systems
  • embedded systems
  • high-performance computing
  • high-speed networking
  • software systems and engineering

The ECpE department’s cyber infrastructure research has applications in Internet security, privacy, security policy, systems biology, and electric power infrastructure.



  • Arun Somani served as principal investigator for a proposal that brought a $1.8-million NSF grant for a high-performance computing (HPC) system. The equipment supports broad-based, interdisciplinary research.
  • Suraj Kothari was awarded a $4.1-million DARPA grant to develop malware-detection software for Android-based devices
  • Internet-Scale Event and Attack Generation Environment (ISEAGE), established in 2006, was the first virtual cyber defense laboratory in the world
  • Iowa State University has been a designated National Security Agency Center of Excellence in Information Assurance since 2000
  • Cystorm (28.16 TF) and CyBlue (5.7 TF) supercomputers were acquired in 2009 and 2006, respectively
  • Iowa State University is a founding member of the Great Lakes Consortium for Petascale Computation

Faculty in This Area

  • Raj Aggarwal
  • George Amariucai
  • Morris Chang
  • Thomas Daniels
  • Manimaran Govindarasu (group chair)
  • Yong Guan
  • Doug Jacobson
  • Phillip Jones
  • Ahmed Kamal
  • Sang W. Kim (secondary area)
  • Suraj Kothari
  • Ratnesh Kumar (secondary area)
  • Tien Nguyen
  • Daji Qiao (secondary area)
  • Diane Rover
  • Arun K. Somani
  • Alexander Stoytchev (secondary area)
  • Srikanta Tirthapura (secondary area)
  • Akhilesh Tyagi
  • Joseph Zambreno
  • Zhao Zhang
  • Julie Rursch

Cyber Infrastructure Research Centers, Institutes, and Laboratories


Research Projects and Publications

For complete information on research projects and publications in this area, consult individual faculty members’ websites, our graduate student thesis archives, and individual research center and laboratory websites.

Graduate Student Research Areas

Cyber infrastructure research at Iowa State encompasses the following core areas of graduate study in electrical and computer engineering: