Student Advisory Committee

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECpE) Student Advisory Committee (SAC) at Iowa State University is a group of electrical, computer, and software engineering students currently enrolled in an undergraduate EE, CprE, or SE program of study at Iowa State who are interested in the vitality of the ECpE department. The committee acts as a consultant to the ECpE department chair to strengthen the department’s undergraduate academic and outreach programs; improve its facilities usage as it pertains to undergraduate teaching and research; and expand its available support to current students and future alumni. SAC members actively participate in the continual assessment of the department’s progress and the development of policies and activities as they pertain to the undergraduate experience in the department.

SAC members actively assist in recruiting new members, as well. The committee serves at the discretion of the ECpE department chair.


2017-18 Student Advisory Committee Standing Members

IEEE Student Chapter
Claudia Athens, president
Jared Griffin, vice president

HKN Student Chapter
Adam Hauge, vice president

Digital Women 
Ashley Dvorsky, president
Sydney Ehlinger, vice president

Critical Tinkers 
Valery Smith, president

SE SAC Representative
Jack Meyer

Engineering Student Council Representative
Jack Potter, FLiE president

Cyclone Amateur Radio Club (CARC)
Christopher Caldwell, vice president/treasurer


Claudia Athens

Claudia Athens is a junior in Computer Engineering from Des Moines, Iowa. She is an active member of the IEEE Student Branch, serving as both the President and Computer Engineering Curriculum Committee Student Representative. Outside of IEEE, she’s the Secretary of Eta Kappa Nu, the Grace Hopper Chair of Digital Women, and a Peer Mentor for the ECSEL program. This past summer, Claudia was an intern at John Deere Dubuque Works, and she will be returning to John Deere this upcoming summer at their Intelligent Solutions Group.


Ashley DvorskyAshley Dvorsky

Ashley Dvorsky is a senior studying Software Engineering, originally from Iowa City, Iowa. She is currently a Teaching Assistant for CPRE 281, a Student Admissions Representative (STAR), President of Digital Women, and an active member of Alpha Gamma Delta International Fraternity. In her free time, she enjoys painting, volunteering, and cheering for the Cyclones.




Valery Smith
Valery Smith is a Junior in Electrical Engineering. After bouncing between majors a little bit, she has yet to switch from EE after finding a love of the critical thinking associated with it.  She is currently President of Critical Tinkers, and a TA for EE 285, Her hobbies include ISU Hockey Pep Band, dancing, Writer’s Guild and participating in as many hackathons as can fit in a semester.


Adam Hauge
Adam Hauge is in his third year at Iowa State, double majoring in Computer Engineering and Music. He became interested in engineering through his CprE 185 class and has absolutely loved coding ever since. Adam is an active member and vice president of Iowa State’s Eta Kappa Nu chapter and loves helping students in the HKN help room in Coover Hall. Outside of engineering, Adam is an active member and volunteer instructor of the Cyclone Swing Dance Society. He also loves music and performs as a trombonist for the Iowa State Jazz Ensemble 1 as well as the Iowa State Symphony Orchestra.


Sydney Ehlinger
Sydney Ehlinger is a junior studying Software Engineering from Des Moines, Iowa. She became interested in pursuing a software engineering degree after taking a web design class in high school. Sydney is an active member and vice president of Digital Women. In her free time, Sydney enjoys yoga, reading, sewing, and knitting.




Jack Meyer
Jack Meyer is a senior in Software Engineering, originally from New Prague, Minnesota. Jack is a former President of the Computer Science and Software Engineering Club and current Peer Mentor for the Software Engineering Learning Community. Outside of class, Jack enjoys watching basketball and football, playing golf, working on new projects, and learning new technologies. 


Jared Griffin
Jared Griffin is a junior in computer engineering from Newton, Iowa. Jared found a passion for programming through the various competitions he participated in with his high school’s robotics team. After coming to Iowa State, Jared joined IEEE originally to work on an Arduino project, then climbed the ranks to Vice President today. In his free time, Jared enjoys playing disc golf and tennis along with competing in programming competitions and playing with new and emerging web technologies.


Christopher Caldwell
Christopher Caldwell is a senior in electrical engineering from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He grew up in the Amateur Radio Community and has been a licensed Amateur Radio operator since 2006. He has co-oped at Rockwell Collins since May 2014 and is the Vice President of the Cyclone Amateur Radio Club. He enjoys spending time with his wife, walking his dogs, and participating in Amateur Radio contests and events.




Jack Potter


SAC Bylaws

Application Form

Software Engineering SAC

email to submit comments or concerns to the Student Advisory Committee.