External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board for the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECpE) is a board of industry experts, as well as alumni of the department, who advise the department on ways to improve and ensure that our degree programs continue to excel and meet the needs of employers in industry and academia.

External Advisory Board Members 2014-15


  • Daniel L. Mineck, Retired, Alliant Energy Corporation (Member since Spring 1999)


  • Chaz Beck, Software Engineer, Microsoft
  • Tyson Benson, Patent Attorney, Advent IP (Member since Spring 2013)
  • Bill Boswell,  Senior Director of Cloud Services Marketing and Business Strategy, Siemens PLM Software (Member since Fall 1999)
  • Rob Bowen, Senior Engineering Manager, ASIC & FPGA Design – Security Applications, Government Systems, Rockwell Collins (Member since Spring 2011)
  • Sarah Campie, Director of Network Design, Voice Engineering, and Voice Automation, Union Pacific Railroad (Member since Fall 2013)
  • Candace Charity, Retired, Hewlett Packard (Member since Spring 2014)
  • Mitchell Corbett, Software Systems and Support Manager, Engineering Field Automation group, DuPont Pioneer (Member since Spring 1999)
  • Michael Deggendorf, Senior Vice President-Corporate Services, Kansas City Power and Light (Member since Spring 2013)
  • Sam Ellis, Program Director, InfoSphere Streams Development, IBM; IBM Campus Relationship Manager with Iowa State University (Member since Fall 2010)
  • Bob Erger, Staff Software Engineer, Schneider Electric (Member since Spring 2010)
  • Ryan HammondLead Technical Engineer, Cybersecurity, Boeing Research and Technology (Member since Spring 2012)
  • John Kenkel, Design Engineering Team Leader, Garmin International, Inc. (Member since Fall 2011)
  • Michelle (Moseman) Miller, Senior Director, Population Health Data Strategy, Cerner (Member since Spring 2013)
  • Nicholas J. Multari, (Chair Elect) Senior Project Manager, Cyber Security Research, Pacific Northwest National Lab (PNNL) (Member since Fall 2010)
  • Albert (Bert) Nelson, Technology Consultant (Member since Spring 2011)
  • Sasha Oster, Packaging Technology Development Engineer, Components Research, Intel (Member since Spring 2013)
  • V.R. Ramanan, Executive Consulting R&D Scientist, U.S. Corporate Research Center, ABB, Inc. (Member since Spring 2011)
  • Christopher Ruckman, Electrical & Controls Department Manager, Burns & McDonnell (Member since Spring 2013)
  • Ren Russie, Vice President, Quality Assurance, Boston Scientific CRM (Member since Spring 2001)
  • Terry Ryan, Manager Electrical and Electric Systems, John Deere Dubuque Works (Member since Spring 2013)
  • Jim Todsen, Engineering Director, Texas Instruments (Member since Fall 2013)
  • Natasha Khan
  • Bruce Trump, Staff Technologist, Texas Instruments Inc. (past chair)

Software Engineering External Advisory Board